No Makeup? No Problem!

Last Saturday (10/26/13), Tangles Hair Studio treated their Homecoming clients with mini photo sessions. Sophie had her hair done but was hesitant having her photo taken because she wasn’t wearing makeup. Luckily we were able to convince her… besides, she had fabulous hair, courtesy of stylist, Jenny Whitby.

We took a few shots and this, in my opinion, was the best of the bunch. Excellent smile and it highlights Jenny’s handiwork.

Unretouched

Unretouched

I decided to give Sophie’s photo my Hollywood treatment by removing some blemishes, softening the skin, removing some stray hairs and finally some digital “dodging and burning”.

Basic Retouching

Basic Retouching

Normally, I’d stop here but during the session we were joking about the idea of “photoshopping” the makeup. I gladly took the challenge. I interviewed Sophie a little bit about how she does her make up and the central thing was that she uses an eyeliner… I said I’d do a simple make up and when I got home, I googled “EYELINER” to figure out what it is exactly, then I continued my search on “Simple Makeups”. It wasn’t difficult to find inspiration in this area.

After a couple of hours playing with the photo, I ended with this… GLAM!!!

Glamour Retouch - The Hollywood Treatment - Digital Makeup

Glamour Retouch – The Hollywood Treatment – Digital Makeup

I can only imagine how Sophie did her makeup on the night of her Homecoming dance but as far as my work is concerned, I think I achieved my goal of a simple makeup and eyeliner concept.

But I wasn’t done… I thought I’d play more while I was at it so I did some coloring… this was inspired by the movie, The Matrix… her track suit was just… Matrix-y. I originally made it green heavy but in the end, a reigned it in and added back some color.

Retouched Image with global color treatment.

Retouched Image with global color treatment.

Here’s a side-by-side-byside comparison to demonstrate the transition from unretouched to total glamour!

Transition from No Retouch to Glamour Retouch

Transition from No Retouch to Glamour Retouch

Even though my title implied that not having makeup during the shoot was not a problem, I will be the first one to say that there is no substitute for the real thing. This was more of a challenge and something to add to my bag of tricks, in case of emergencies. I don’t consider myself a makeup artist and I’d rather leave it to the pros.

Tangles Hair Studio and PointShoot Photography has teamed up to provide clients the full experience of having your hair and makeup done before your photo session. For additional information and booking, call Mario at (410) 793-7344 or contact us via our website.

===

PointShoot Photgraphy is a Kent Island, MD based portrait photographer serving the custom portrait and general photography needs in the following counties and cities:
QUEEN ANNE’S COUNTY│Centreville, Chester, Stevensville, Grasonville, Queenstown
ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY│Annapolis, Arnold, Crofton, Davidsonville, Fort Meade, Galesville, Glen Burnie, Harwood, Lake Shore, Lothian, Mayo, Millersville, Odenton, Pasadena, Riva, Severn, Severna Park, South Gate, South River
PRINCE GEORGE’S COUNTY│Bowie, Kettering, Lake Arbor, Mitchellville,Upper Marlboro
CALVERT COUNTY│Chesapeake Beach, Dunkirk, Owings
TALBOT COUNTY│Easton
CAROLINE COUNTY│Odenton, Ridgely

Leave A Comment or Reply

