MAKING CREATIVE DECISIONS DURING POST PROCESSING

Digital image post processing is a highly technical endeavor but there are times when I also have to make some artistic or creative decisions to further enhance a portrait. I care about the final image and sometimes I go to certain extremes to meet or exceed my clients’ expectations.

For example, I had these two similarly posed images. The top one has the subject smiling. But I liked how the feet were posed on the bottom image…

… so I decided to have the best of both worlds. After merging the parts, I did my color grading and other enhancements.

I thought I might give my client other options so I followed an inner voice that told me I can one-up myself. The stucco wall was light green and my final coloring made the white door frame sort of greenish. So why not  color coordinate the dress with the environment?

After going to town with this mini side project, I added some warmth to the overall image to tie in the greens and yellows.


Mario Gozum is a portrait photographer/retoucher and owner of PointShoot Photgraphy, based in Kent Island, MD, serving the custom portrait and general photography needs of residents in the following counties and cities:

QUEEN ANNE’S COUNTY│Centreville, Chester, Stevensville, Grasonville, Queenstown
ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY│Annapolis, Arnold, Crofton, Davidsonville, Fort Meade, Galesville, Glen Burnie, Harwood, Lake Shore, Lothian, Mayo, Millersville, Odenton, Pasadena, Riva, Severn, Severna Park, South Gate, South River
PRINCE GEORGE’S COUNTY│Bowie, Kettering, Lake Arbor, Mitchellville,Upper Marlboro
CALVERT COUNTY│Chesapeake Beach, Dunkirk, Owings
TALBOT COUNTY│Easton
CAROLINE COUNTY│Odenton, Ridgely

Leave A Comment or Reply

